Church History

Home Our Pastor Church History Mission Statement Schedule of Events Give A Donation Contact Us Calendar Events Our Family & Friends Affiliates / Shared Links Guest Book

Church History!

Being guided by the Holy Spirit a group of Christian believer led by Rev. James B. Mott met on April 14, 1985 at the Lily White temple at 3714 29th Street, Tampa, FL to consider stabling a new local church assembly.  After much prayer the assembly came on one accord and St. Mary M.B. Church became a reality. The founding members were: Rev. James B. Mott, Sister Christine Mott, Sister Vacalie Brandon, Sister Darlene Chambers, Brother Carl Johnson, Brother Michael Johnson, Sister Deloris Mott, Sister Mopel Mott, Sister LaFran Reddin, Brother Robert Reddin, Brother Baker Lee Rivers, Sister Daisey Rivers, Brother Edward Rivers, Sister Jeanette Rivers, Sister Caroline Squash, Brother Central Squash, Sister Elnora Squash, and Brother Sampson Squash. April 26, 1985 the church met and Rev. James Mott was called as the first pastor.  Under Pastor Mott, many church ministries were also established that day:  Sunday School, Bible Study, Male, Adult, and Youth Choir, User Board, and Trustee Board. The church gained corporate status in 1986 with the Florida Department of Corporation.  We relocated to 3924 W. Laurel Street, Tampa, FL in 1988As Rev. Mott’s health declined; he decided to retire in October 1995.  Upon announcing his retirement, he recommended Rev. Wallace Z. Bowers for the position as Pastor.  We accepted the recommendation and officially called Rev. Bowers to lead us as Pastor.

Pastor Wallace Z. Bowers

Rev. Bowers came to the pulpit the first Sunday of January in 1996 during this time the membership had fallen sharply.  We begin to accomplish many things with much prayer and the guidance of Pastor Bowers such as our membership began to grow, many ministries were re-established, and our focus on God was strengthened.  Under Pastor Bowers several brothers became ordained deacons: Brother R. Lewis and S. Squash in 1996, Brother E. Sims in 1997, Brother A. Walker and Brother P. Kearse Sr. in 2001, Brother B. Clark, Brother R. Kilpatrick, and Brother L. Taylor in 2007. God also sent two faithful Deacons to assist us, Deacon J. Niles and Deacon C. Darsaw.  God has blessed us with two wonderful musicians Deacon L. Taylor (drummer) and Sister M. Williams (pianist). 

In 1997 we purchased a land at 3910 W. Laurel Street.  In January of 1999 we began construction for our new edifice.  On the first Sunday in May 2000 we marched into our new church home.  The Lord continued to bless us by leading two men of God – Rev. Dr. L. Carr and Rev. J. Meadows to assist pastor Bowers with dividing the Word of God.  God called each of His faithful servants (Rev. Dr. L. Carr and Rev. J. Meadows) home to rest with Him.  On October 15, 2006 Minister T. Wickes and his lovely wife Belinda joined the St. Mary family.  We ordained Minister Wickes on May 27, 2007.   

Under the leadership of Pastor Bowers the mortgage was paid off on September 10, 2006; we became members of the Local and District Congress of Mount Pilgrim Association and the Progressive M. E. Baptist State Convention. 


Pastor Dwayne E. Sanders Sr.


Pastor Dwayne E. Sanders Sr. was installed June 10, 2018 as pastor of St. Mary M.B. Church and came to the pulpit on June 17, 2018 as the newly appointed pastor.  Rev. D. E. Sanders Sr. is ready to further advance the church through evangelism.  St. Mary M. B. Church has gained two new members under his pastoral leadership to this present date.